The Holidays and Intuitive Eating

We all know the feeling.  The pull between wanting stick to your diet and wanting to enjoy the food that your family and friends have made.  If you don’t know the feeling, than, well, you are very fortunate, because for the rest of us, this struggle can really put a damper on the holidays.  So, I’m going to share my experience with the holidays and dieting and what I plan to do this up coming Christmas.

This past Thanksgiving, my family visited my house.  This made tracking my macros easier while they were here (it was for 4 days).  I did not track on Thanksgiving day, but I tracked the rest of the time.  I don’t think my family even noticed I was tracking, I wasn’t measuring or anything, just eyeing portions.  I had a great time, but the tracking still effected how I enjoyed my family’s company.

This Christmas, I am going to visit my family in another state.  That means unfamiliar kitchen, unfamiliar food, unfamiliar gym.  So to make my life easier, this Christmas I am going to take the Intuitive Eating approach.  This will be stressful at first, which is why I stopped tracking today, 2 days before I leave home.  This way I can get used to it before I get there.  I hope to enjoy my family completely and not be worried about the food I am eating.

While I will be not be tracking, I will be mindful of what and how much I eat, and I will be working out a couple times a week, but I will not deprive myself of those little holiday treats that everyone loves so much.  I hope that this will allow my mind to stay balanced amid the maelstrom of travel.

This is not to say that this is the correct way of treating the holidays for everyone.  I do not look down on anyone who decides to track macros, meal prep, or even completely let go of their diet during the holidays.  That is their journey, and there is truly no “right way.”  But for me, Intuitive eating will hopefully keep my mind at ease and my body happy while I am off making memories.

I hope you can reach the same peace.

XOXO

Anna

Leave a Reply

