Banana Pepper Sriracha

Have you ever seen GREEN hot sauce? Me neither! Not until I made it. And let me tell you, it’s green coloring does not make it any lass spicy or delicious. If you are a lover of spicy, you will love this recipe. 
 

Sure you could buy hot sauce at the store. OR you could 1) save money 2) make much fresher, hot sauce tweaked exactly the way you like it 3) impress everyone and gain the ultimate bragging rights. Yeah, I like the second option better too.
What inspired me to make this? My pepper plants are LOADED with banana peppers this winter. They started out mild, but as they ripened they turned deadly hot. My dad and I decided to dabble in the art of Sriracha- making. I’d say we quickly graduated to masters at the art, if this delectably scorching hot sauce is any indication! I used 6 lbs of peppers, tripling the recipe below. Feel free to do this and give some away to friends and families. That’s what I did!
  
Banana Pepper Sriracha Recipe:

  • 2 LB spicy banana peppers (or any other hot peppers), chopped . I recomend wearing gloves while you are chopping. I didn’t and the juices seeped into my pores. My hands tingled the rest of the day. I thought this was awesome, but if that doesn’t sound like your idea of fun, gloves are the best option.      
  • 1/3 white onion, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 6 cups white distilled vinegar
  • 1 TB cup salt
  • 5 tsp sugar

Instructions:

  1. Blend everything except vinager in a food processor or blender.    
  2. Mix with the vinegar and let sit in the fridge for a week. I know, it’s a long time, but it will make some seriously delicious hot sauce! Be careful because the yellow peppers make a a concoction that dangerously resembles our favorite avocado dip!  
  3. When the week is done, blend it again and strain out the juice. Make sure to squeeze as much juice out as you can!      
  4. The leftover pulp can be canned as a pepper paste. I’m planning on using it as a marinade or topping for chicken.   
Leave a Reply

