Protein Donuts

Sorry for the week long hiatus; this week has been a long string of trial and error with a couple of recipes that I have been working on for you guys.  Though the recipes are coming along, I never post anything until it is top-notch.  That being said, this recipe started as a pancake, and while eating them I realized that they tasted a lot like donuts… and thus, PROTEIN DONUTS WERE BORN!

  
  
These contain a Oat Bran Waffle and Pancake Mix, but feel free to sub a pancake mix of choice.  I also use PEScience protein in this recipe, which I have mentioned before as my favorite protein-they have amazing macros, taste, flavors, and bake super well- but any protein blend should work.  Whey protein will also work, though it may come out a bit dryer.

Here’s the recipe!

Protein Donuts Recipe:

  

  • 1 serving (32g) cookies and cream PEScience Select Protein (Sub flavor and/or brand of choice)
  • 1 serving (1/4 cup; 35g) Arrowhead Mills Oat Bran Waffle and Pancake Mix (see note)
  • 1/4 cup Stevia in the Raw (or sweetener of choice, to taste)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 140g (1/2 cup+ 2 TB) egg replacer (I use Egg Beaters “Original” egg white product)
  • 2 TB (30g) unsweetened apple sauce
  • 2 TB (30 mL) water

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F.  Spray donut pan (mine makes 6 small donuts, about 4 inches each in diameter).
  2. Mix all dry ingredients in bowl.  Mix in wet ingredients to form a relatively thin batter.
  3. Pour batter into donut molds.  I had a bit leftover so i microwaved it for 20 seconds to get a sneak peek at what my donuts would taste like.  then I got thoroughly excited because it tasted GOODDDD šŸ™‚
  4. Bake for about 10 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Let cool and devour.

Makes 6 donuts, each with macros: 0.5F 4C (1 Fiber 0.5 Sugar) 8P

  
Note: This mix contains gluten.  For gluten free, substitute a gluten free pancake mix.

I topped mine with my healthy dark chocolate sauce. (2 TB cocoa powder+2-3 packets stevia+water to consistency) YUM

  
 

Hope you enjoy!

XOXO,

Anna

PS this was my creation for 2016 International Donut Day!

Leave a Reply

