AnsiNutrition Protein Bar Review

Protein bars are a great snack if you are super busy or need quick fuel after a workout. When trying to achieve a healthy lifestyle, sometimes you need foods that you can just grab and unwrap in the car- and better a protein bar than a candy bar.  Unfortunately, many of the protein bars on the market resemble candy bars in sugar content and calories, and resemble bricks in taste.  That’s why I am really careful about what protein bars I  decide to buy.

What I look for in a protein bar is taste, texture, and size, along with reasonable calories for the size, and high protein and fiber content.  The fiber content is kind of a preference- I know that some people are negatively affected by higher fiber bars, but prefer there to be fiber in my bars when possible.

I have seen AnsiNutrition Gourmet Cheesecake Protein Bars on Instagram periodically, and I was intrigued by their name (Gourmet Cheesecake Protein Bar??? Sign me up!), their nutritional profile, and their interesting flavors.  I decided to try each of the three flavors available and rate them so that you guys can decide for yourselves wether you want to try these unique bars too.

IMG_6947

Chocolate Truffle Cheesecake:

66g Bar: 210 calories 8F 26C (20 Fiber, 4 Sugar) 20P

What I liked:  The texture was pretty decent: a little bit tough but overall soft and pleasant.  The chocolate layer on the bottom is very sweet and perfect for a guilt free indulgence.  The texture is even better when heated in the microwave for 10 seconds, and the chocolate base tastes less artificial, which as you will see was one of my initial complaints.  Another great factor was the size of this bar.

IMG_6950

What I didn’t like: Upon opening this bar, I was a bit disappointed by the appearance, because it looked simply like a chocolate protein bar base dipped in chocolate at the bottom.  This is what it looks like.

I felt that the chocolate flavor tasted slightly artificial.  It had a bit if that bitter taste that you sometimes get when eating “healthy” versions of chocolate baked products, such as Fiber One brownies.  I am not really sure where the “Cheesecake” part of these bars comes into play, as I did not taste or see any cheesecake-y components to this flavor or any of the other ones.

I give this bar a 5/10

IMG_6945

Raspberry Truffle Cheesecake:

65g Bar: 205 calories 7F 25C (19 Fiber, 4 Sugar) 20P

IMG_6943

What I liked: The taste of this bar was very pleasant.  It had a strong raspberry flavor and the chocolate bottom coat complimented it nicely.  I am used to white chocolate accompanying raspberry, and though I am not sure that this combination is better than your classic White Chocolate Raspberry, the tart raspberry paired with the classic chocolate was definitely a delicious combination and a nice alternative combination,  The texture was also very soft, which I enjoyed.  Heated up in the microwave for 10 seconds, the bars texture was SUPER soft and delectable, and the taste was enhanced nicely.  Again, the size of the bar was perfect for the amount of calories and micronutrients that it provided.

What I didn’t like:  Again, this bar did not have an amazing appearance.  It was a raspberry base with a chocolate bottom coating. Simple and kind of ugly in my opinion.  The raspberry flavor was also very strong and tart, which was not a problem for me because I am a HUGE fan of raspberry, but I wanted to mention it because I know that some people may be put off by the strong fruity taste.

I give this bar a 8/10

IMG_6951

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cheesecake:

68g Bar: 220 calories 9F 26C (20 Fiber, 4 Sugar) 20P

What I liked: I adore all things Peanut Butter Chocolate, so I had high hopes for this flavor.  The chocolate dipped bottom was a nice sweet addition to the peanut butter base, which was not overly sweet.  I appreciated this, since peanut butter flavored products lose some of their salty, peanut-y appeal when they are over sweetened, and Ansinutrition avoided this and made a perfectly sweet+salty combo in this bar.  The texture is also very pleasant; it was soft, yet a little bit chewy/ tough, but not in an unpleasant way.  The size was fitting for the macros and heated up in the microwave, this bar was delectably soft and delicious.

What I didn’t like:  I felt that the peanut butter based bar had an artificial peanut taste that I found off-putting.  Peanut butter is the love of my life (only sort of an exaggeration), so I am attuned to artificial replications of it, and was disappointed that this bar was not more natural tasting.

IMG_6954

I give this bar an 7.5/10

Overall these bars were pretty average when it comes to clean protein bar options.  They are gluten free, low sugar, and high fiber, and non-GMO.

One attribute that I would like to mention is that these bars are sweetened with stevia as opposed to sugar alcohols.  This sets them apart from many other brands that use sugar alcohols to sweeten their products.  Though I do not completely avoid sugar alcohols, I feel that stevia is a healthier and more natural option, not to mention it does not bother my stomach like sugar alcohols do. Because of my preference, I am always on the lookout for ways to replace sugar alcohol flavored products with stevia sweetened alternatives, and these bars fit the bill.

These bars are kind of falsely named in that their flavors and appearances don’t resemble cheesecake at all, but if you omit the “cheesecake” factor of each flavor name, all three flavors taste like the name given to them.

I would consider buying the Peanut Butter Chocolate or Raspberry Truffle flavors again, but I was not a fan of the Chocolate Truffle flavor.  If you want to try these bars,  click here to be sent to AnsiNutrition’s website.

Hope you found this review helpful! If you have tried these bars before, let me know your opinions in the comments!

XOXO,

Anna

 

Leave a Reply

