Fit Joy Protein Bar Review

These FitJoy Nutrition bars have been all the rage on social media lately, so I decided to give them a try and rate their flavors.  I was surprised at how much variety they had in terms of the quality of the bar.  You’ll see when you read my reviews that some of the bars were stellar while others just did not live up to the hype.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough:


This bar, the first of the flavors for me to try, was very disappointing. The flavor was tainted with the bitter taste common in low quality protein bars. I could tell that they attempted to create a pleasant cookie dough flavor, but the artificial taste made the bars flavor rather dull. The texture was also disappointing. The cheesiness was not pleasant- it was like a slightly softer lady taffy. There were tiny bits of chocolate that did not seem to add any flavor to the bar, and that added a negligible amount of texture. Overall I give this bar a 5/10.

Chocolate Iced Brownie:

The aesthetics of this bar are breathtaking; I opened the wrapper and was dazzled by the beautiful drizzle and scattered nuts.  The flavor of this bar had a protein taste, but it was very faint, unlike in the Cookie Dough flavor. It was very chocolaty and I enjoyed the flavor of the nuts mixed with the chocolate.  The nuts were the highlight of this bar, adding a delicious crunch to an otherwise chewy base.  The chocolate drizzle also helped add a richer chocolate flavor and a crisp texture to the top.  Overall, I give this bar a 7/10.

Chocolate Mint Crisp

This bar reminded me of a thin mint because of its masterful balance of sweet mint and chocolate.  The chocolate coating was thick and rich, and added to the sense of an indulgence rather than a healthy protein packed snack.  The texture of this bar was much like a classic protein bar such as Pure Protein.  I am not usually a fan of chocolate mint protein bars, because most bars are either much too mint or not minty enough, but this bar was one of the best chocolate mint bars I have ever had and did a great job creating a balance between the two strong flavors.  Overall, I give this bar an 8/10.

Frosted Cinnamon Roll

This bar was beautiful, much like the Brownie flavor was.  The drizzle makes your mouth water as soon as you see it.  The cinnamon flavor of this bar was very strong, and created a more “spicy” experience than most cinnamon protein bars offer.  By spicy I mean spices like cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and ginger. The flavor of these spices is pronounced and will likely create very polar opinions about this bar.  People who enjoy those spices will most likely find that this is a spectacular bar, but those that do not like too much of these fall spices, the spice may be overwhelming and make the bar less pleasurable. I personally love fall flavors and I enjoyed the spiciness, but I was still skeptical about the choices of flavors for this bar.  Overall, I give this bar a 7.5/10.

Homemade Pumpkin Pie

This bar looked and tasted bizarre.  The pumpkin taste was overwhelming and there was little sweetness to balance it.  The protein bitterness was evident as well.  The only thing I liked about this bar was that it was extremely soft, but that was likely because the bar seemed to be at least fifty percent made of pumpkin puree. Overall, I give this bar a 2/10.

Chocolate Peanut Butter

To anyone who loves chocolate peanut butter (aka me) this the first look at this bar was super exciting.  It looked delicious and I couldn’t wait to take my first bite!  The texture was very soft and the topping was delicious.  I loved the taste and texture that the peanuts added to the bar.  It had a slightly bitter protein flavor which was the only blemish on an otherwise pretty stellar bar.  Overall I give this bar and 8/10.

French Vanilla Almond

This bar’s aesthetics were also quite inviting.  The flavor however, did not Live up to the appearance. The almond flavor was very artificial and the bitterness of the protein was strong.  The almonds did not seem to add much texture to the chewy base of the bar.  The only good part of this bar was the drizzle which was uncharacteristically delicioud considering the rest of the bar.  However, it was creamy and sweet, and I enjoyed it very much.  Overall, I give this bar a 6/10.

I’d love to know if you guys have tried these bars and what you think of them.  And if there is another brand of bars that you’d like me to review, feel free to leave suggestions!

XOXO,

Anna

2 thoughts on “Fit Joy Protein Bar Review

  1. I agree with you. I think some of Fit joy flavors are hyped up a lot, but honestly don’t taste that good. My favorite so far is definitely the seasonal winter peppermint. I really want to try the new birthday cake flavor too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

